Side Porch Music

Rick was here in the mountains with us this weekend, and I talked him and  Nick into a quick Fathers Day recording of “What Hurts the Most” on our side porch.

Instead of using our old tape video camera, I took this with my Canon T2i, which I use for photographs. The T2i doesn’t work well for soccer video because it won’t auto-focus in the way I, as a novice, need it to, and soccer play moves in and out of the plane of focus so quickly as distances between action and camera change.

But for this video I set the T2i on a tripod on the side porch, and we did exactly one take, with my reading the instruction manual to figure out how to actually record video. The next challenge was figuring out how to use Windows Live Movie Maker to reduce the file size enough to upload over DSL to Facebook.

The mountains are beautiful, but we’re not exactly in a super high speed internet zone.

Anyway, you can see the result of a little father-son musical collaboration here — just moments before we dashed off to see The Avengers in Charlottesville.

Nice of Rick to have passed along his musical ability to all our boys. More importantly, he has always taken the time to play with them, listen to them, and call their attention to diverse genres and artists. I never know whether the house will be full of Pink Floyd, Ralph Stanley, Muddy Waters, Santana, Lynyrd Skynyrd, Steely Dan, Train, or something else entirely.

Happy Fathers Day to my husband – and also to his dad, who with Rick’s mom, also raised three musical sons, providing encouragement, instruments, lessons, and always, a listening ear. Believe me when I tell you that gatherings of the Faulconer clan are musical events, with brothers, uncles, aunts, and cousins crossing genres to find harmony.

Now you know why I call this place “Fiddlers Hill.”

This entry was posted in Family Life, Guitar, Homeschooling, Homeschooling Boys, Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Side Porch Music

  1. Louise Faulconer says:

    How neat! Enjoyed the music. I always said music can last a lifetime. How true it is when I see father and son sharing it together. Thanks for sharing this video.

  2. This made me so happy! Thanks for sharing. Love to you all.

  3. Maureen says:

    Jeanne, This was awesome. What a great way to start my day. How blessed you are to begin and end many of your days listening to music made by your family.

  4. Cindy says:

    Okay, so that was awesome, Jeanne. I haven’t taken the time to hear your son play, and oh boy, with that totally adorable smile and cutie pie looks, and talent to back it, watch out. That boy’s gonna go places! And how the violin and guitar harmonized so spot on … gorgeous! Enjoyed it immensely. Your hubby may have to tag along with his son if he stays in the music biz.

Leave a Reply

