What a Real Woman Wants

My husband’s friends were surprised when he took me hiking for our twentieth wedding anniversary, and even more surprised when he explained that this was my request. Well I’m getting my request in early for our thirtieth wedding anniversary, which is, remarkably, coming up next month.

(Why, yes. I was a child bride).

Part of our walk down to the river near the house in the South River Valley.

I’d like to go  hiking. And camping, maybe. I hope we can go back to the same place, South River Falls in Shenandoah National Park. Our mountain house is just a few miles from Swift Run Gap, and the South River – well below its fall from the mountains – is a favorite walk from the house, just a hundred yards or so from the end of our driveway. It amazes me to hike to the falls in the mountains above and realize that is the source of the river flowing through our little community in the South River Valley.

And as for a birthday gift this summer, I’m hoping for an incline sit-up bench. Second-hand, preferably. No, really.

Save the pearls for other girls.

This entry was posted in Family Life, South River Valley, Virginia Byways and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What a Real Woman Wants

  1. Rebecca says:

    Puts me in mind of my 30th birthday when my parents asked my sister what they should get me and said they were thinking of pearl earrings. My sister told them they were nuts and that they should get me a Cuisinart if they wanted to give me something “significant.” I was thrilled with the Cuisinart (and would have hated the pearl earrings) and am still using the Cuisinart 20 years later. Real women, for sure.

  2. Anne says:

    I like vacuum cleaners.. And hikes 🙂

  3. Pingback: A Thirty-Year Hike | At Each Turn

Leave a Reply

